Virtual Races

Maybank Marathon Anywhere

Customer
Maybank
Categories
Connected_event_pic

Covid-19: How to maintain a special relationship with athletes during the pandemic?

Context
the Maybank Marathon community
No items found.

The Maybank Marathon, Indonesia's international marathon, is the only Indonesian race to be awarded the "Bronze Label" by World Athletics. When the Covid-19 pandemic hits race organizers hard in 2020, the 9th edition of the Maybank Marathon will not escape it. However, the organisers wanted to keep their community involved and offer an alternative to physical races to motivate and enthuse running enthusiasts.

How can we reinvent this international event to allow athletes to take part despite health restrictions? By offering them a new experience: the virtual race. 


Project

The Maybank Marathon Anywhere is born on the VRace by Sport Heroes platform: thanks to Sport Heroes technology, participants can connect their sports trackers, record their performances and access the race ranking live.
While all sports events are cancelled or, at best, postponed, the Maybank Marathon decided to innovate to offer free virtual races accessible to all. A way to motivate running enthusiasts and give them the desire to surpass themselves despite the context.




the Maybank Marathon virtual race
No items found.
Wherever they are, whenever they want
the Maybank Marathon medal
No items found.

To participate in the challenge, nothing could be easier. Before the race: runners register on the MyVrace platform and choose the distance they wish to run. During the race: they have 2 days to surpass themselves, on 28 & 29 November 2021.

To each his own rhythm
choose your distance
race at your own pace
No items found.

In the exceptional conditions of the year 2020, all over the world, sanitary restrictions were imposed on the practice of sports: runners were constrained to certain rules during their outings (time and/or place). To allow as many people as possible to participate, the organizers decided to give all participants the possibility to divide their race into several sessions, so that everyone would respect the sanitary measures of their region. 

  • 10K in 1 session
  • 21K in 2 sessions (11K + 10K)
  • 42K in 4 sessions (12K, 10K, 10K, 10K)
Community spirit
Maybank Marathon finishers
Maybank Marathon merchandising
Maybank Marathon athletes
No items found.

Since this is a real race, athletes could also order their race pack: a limited edition offered by the Maybank Marathon. This will generate enthusiasm and community spirit among runners around the world.
#MaybankMarathonAnywhere

No items found.
Results

A real craze from the launch of registrations which confirms the desire and expectation of runners from all over the world: 11,000 participants registered in less than 24 hours, with a total of 19,000 participants (that is to say more than 8,000 participants in 2019)


In figures :
"The response has been truly overwhelming and far beyond our expectations. In a very short time, when registration opened, over 19,000 runners signed up for the Bank Anywhere Marathon to take part in this new experience around the world."
speaker_connected_event
Taswin Zakaria
President Director, Maybank Indonesia

93%

of community members want a new virtual edition in 2021

19 000

participants in total (+8000 in 1 year)

458K

of reach

You want to know more about Virtual Races

More information Contact us

See more projects

Virtual Races

Maybank Marathon Anywhere

Client
Maybank
Connected_event_pic

Covid-19 : comment entretenir une relation privilégiée avec les athlètes pendant la pandémie ?

Contexte
la communauté Maybank Marathon
No items found.

Le Maybank Marathon, marathon international d’Indonésie, est la seule course indonésienne labellisée “Label Bronze” par World Athletics. Quand la pandémie du Covid-19 frappe de plein fouet les organisateurs de course en 2020, la 9ème édition du Maybank Marathon n’y échappe pas. Les organisateurs souhaitaient pourtant coûte que coûte maintenir l’engagement de leur communauté et proposer une alternative aux courses physiques pour motiver et enthousiasmer les adeptes du running.

Comment réinventer cet événement d’envergure internationale pour permettre aux athlètes d’y prendre part malgré les restrictions sanitaires ? En leur proposant une nouvelle expérience : la course virtuelle. 


Projet

Le Maybank Marathon Anywhere voit le jour sur la plateforme VRace by Sport Heroes : grâce à la technologie de Sport Heroes, les participants peuvent connecter leurs trackers de sport, enregistrer leurs performances et accéder à au classement de la course en live. 
Alors que tous les événements sportifs sont annulés ou, au mieux, reportés, le Maybank Marathon décide d’innover pour proposer des courses virtuelles gratuites et accessibles à tous. Un moyen de motiver les amateurs de running et de leur donner l’envie de se dépasser malgré le contexte. 




la course virtuelle Maybank Marathon
No items found.
Où qu'ils soient, quand ils veulent
la médaille de la course Maybank Marathon
No items found.

Pour participer au challenge, rien de plus simple. Avant la course : les runners s’inscrivent sur la plateforme MyVrace et choisissent la distance qu’ils souhaitent parcourir. Pendant la course : ils ont 2 jours pour se surpasser, les 28 & 29 novembre 2021.

À chacun son rythme
choisissez votre distance
race at your own pace
No items found.

Dans les conditions exceptionnelles de l’année 2020, partout dans le monde, des restrictions sanitaires encadraient la pratique sportive : les coureurs étaient contraints à certaines règles lors de leurs sorties (horaires et/ou lieu). Pour permettre au plus grand nombre de participer, les organisateurs ont décidé de donner à tous les participants la possibilité de diviser leur course en plusieurs sessions, afin que chacun respecte les mesures sanitaires de sa région. 

  • 10K en 1 session
  • 21K en 2 sessions (11K + 10K)
  • 42K en 4 sessions (12K, 10K, 10K, 10K)
L'esprit de communauté
les finishers de Maybank Marathon
le merchandising de Maybank Marathon
les athlètes Maybank Marathon
No items found.

Puisque c’est une course, une vraie, les athlètes pouvaient aussi commander leur pack de course : une édition limitée proposée par le Maybank Marathon. De quoi susciter l’enthousiasme et l’esprit de communauté parmi les runners partout dans le monde. 
#MaybankMarathonAnywhere

No items found.
Résultats

Un véritable engouement dès le lancement des inscriptions qui confirme l'envie et l'attente des coureurs de monde entier : 11 000 participants se sont inscrits en moins de 24h, avec un total de 19 000 participants (soit + de 8000 participants qu’en 2019)


En chiffres :
“L’engouement est vraiment extraordinaire et bien au-delà de nos attentes. En très peu de temps, à l’ouverture des inscriptions, plus de 19 000 runners se sont inscrits à au Marathon Bank Anywhere pour prendre part à cette nouvelle expérience dans le monde entier”
speaker_connected_event
Taswin Zakaria
President Director, Maybank Indonesia

93%

des membres de la communauté veulent une nouvelle édition virtuelle en 2021

19 000

participants au total (+8000 en 1 an)

458K

de reach

Vous voulez en savoir plus sur les Virtual Races

En savoir plusNous contacter

Voir d'autres projets